A new year

Today was the first day of the new year for me. January 1st is a special day for me, so I do not really start my new year days until the 2nd. Anyways, the year 2008 was a difficult one for me.  I started teaching a 3rd grade class that was a HUGE challenge behaviorally.  I took over the class after the original teacher was ill for the entire 1st semester, and well, because of the lack of consistency for the children, it was like starting the year all over, in January.  After about 6 weeks, it started to get better, but it was a huge stress for me the entire semester.  Then, we found out that the church that we started in February was no longer getting funding from the organization that helped us start. So, we closed Journey Church May 2008.  That left Jon with no job here, that we moved from AZ for.  After prayer we decided that I would resign at the end of the school year so we could move to a different place for another ministry that Jon could be the Worship Pastor.  We moved out of our apartment July 10 and moved in with Jon’s parents.  So, that left both of us with no jobs, no place of our own to live, and no source of income.  We prayed and thought that we would be relocated by the Fall.  The days, weeks, months, and seasons came and gone, and we are still not relocated yet, and still do not have jobs, and still do not have a place of our own.  It has been difficult for me and for us.  Some days I am sad, some days I am angry, some days I just ask God, “why are we not able to find another worship pastor position?”  and then other days I have peace and joy.  I am proud of my husband and I know that his gifts are in leading worship.  Our prayers and focus have been more on seeking God for what HE wants us to do and where.  It is easy to lose the focus and give up before you get to the end.  So, even though we had bigger expectations from 2008 we are looking forward to the new beginnings for 2009.  We continue to seek God and pray that the plan He has for us will be revealed to us clearly (soon)!  This is the verse that I have been holding onto and trying hard to obey, ” Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”  Phillippians 4:6

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A new year

  1. Just responding to your comment on my blog about seeing old friends. Don’t get me wrong, the whole balancing family and friends thing when you go home is hard. Over the years the amount of friends we try to see each time we go home has dwindled to our closest friends. We used to be crazy trying to see everyone and realized we just can’t do that anymore. I don’t mean to be rude and leave anyone out, but we have learned who we are still close enough to and who to make a priority when we go home. I think it has actually strengthened a few relationships and now I don’t feel so crazy.

Leave a Reply

